6th grade7th grade8th gradeHeroesFrench & SpanishExploGuided StudiesResponding to and Creating DBQs with Primary Sources
This is the "Databases" page of the "Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Home  

PSMS library home
Last Updated: May 15, 2017 URL: http://prairiestarms.libguides.com/psms Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Passwords

Passwords for home use are included inyour student planner.  Additionally, there are paper copies in the library.  If you have difficulty with any passwords, please email or tell Mrs. Nocita. The document below is password protected.  What is another name for a group of  leopards of an exceptionally large & fierce variety?

 

You can also visit the Kansas State Library site directly.  They provide many (but not all) of our database resources.  The links on this page work by verifying your Kansas internet provider address so you should not need passwords to use these resources.  

 

NoodleTools

Personal id = BV username

Password - BV ID #

If you're prompted to revalidate your Noodlebib account:

school/library = psms

password = panthers

http://www.noodletools.com/simplesaml/module.php/core/loginuserpass.php?loginerror=&AuthState=_80179bf60e5271430235aa4e634f4fe91bc1f08f8c%3Ahttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.noodletools.com%2Fsimplesaml%2Fmodule.php%2Fcore%2Fas_login.php%3FAuthId%3Dnoodletools-sql-auth%26ReturnTo%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.noodletools.com%252Flogin.php%253Fgroup%253D12887%2526code%253D3119%2526oid%253D3485&ipAuthentication=0&loginScreenShowName=ELCO+High+School&bookmarklet=

Library Catalog

Click here for links to references, databases, and magazines.

 

Dictionary and Thesaurus

Dictionary Thesaurus
 

CNN Student News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Sirs Researcher

 

Global Issues in Context

 

ABC CLIO Databases

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society

American History

Pop Culture Universe

World Geography

Username and password required to login

Please see Mrs. Nocita for assistance.

 

Science in Context

 

EBSCO databases

Provided by the Kansas State Library, this resource includes: Student Research Center; EBSCOhost Research Databases; Consumer Health Complete; Literary Reference Center;Auto Repair Reference Center;Novelist Plus; and Small Business Reference Center.

 

EBSCO

Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

NoveList Plus

Absolutely great tool for book selection, both fiction and nonfiction!  Lots of great tools to help you find the perfect book!

Intro to NoveList Plus

 

BV LMC Link to PSMS Databases

BV LMC LINK TO PSMS Databases 

If prompted to login:

username = BV student ID #

password = psms

 

World Book Encyclopedia

 

Culture Grams World Edition

Check History, Time Line, Government, and Famous People sections to find out the latest on elections, major current events, and notable people from each country.

Europe Asia Oceania North America None Africa Africa None South America

Other tools (Google is NOT a Database)

 

  Google advanced

      
     

    Research Process

    List Keywords & Synonyms relevant to your topic from broad to narrow.

    Determine Essential Question(s).

    Determine all possible information sources.

    Start Research.  Hunting & gathering phase!  Indiscriminately collect information.

    When you have several sources, read through the information highlighting important terms, facts, statisitics, etc. related to your question(s).

    Evaluate information for usefulness and relevance. 

    Re-work essential question(s) based on information you find.  Did the information you found support your original thinking or do you need to adjust your working thesis?  Does your thinking about the topic need to change?  Or do you need different resources?

    Research more!Question everything!  Evaluate every information source!  Triangulate data and cross check facts.  Is this particular information source the right fit for your task?  Look for POV (point of view), Bias, qualifications of author(s), transparency of peer review,

    Gather assets--music, pictures, charts, diagrams, etc. when applicable.

    Cite all sources and assets.

     

    Johnson County Library

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip